Model of the Year Alexis Hamilton Struts into the Business….of Runway


_DTP0767

Whether with the Emerging Designer Bootcamp or Model of the Year competition, Phoenix Fashion Week strives to show local professionals how to take their brands and business to the next level. 2011 Model of the Year Alexis Hamilton is doing just this, taking the leap from the runway to running her own business as Arizona’s Premier Runway Coach for Strut Runway. “It’s exciting that just a few years ago, she was an emerging model, then named PHXFW Model of the Year. We support local talent and we push the importance of business so much that Alexis was inspired to launch her own business in what she does best, modeling,” said PHXFW Executive Direcrtor

We had the chance to catch up with Alexis after her impressive official launch party at the W Scottsdale: 

How have things changed for you and your life since winning Model of the Year in 2011? “Things have been great since winning PHXFW. I’ve done a catalog spread for a jewelry company, and I am featured on the happy hour menu for national restaurant, Bar Louie. They also used my ad in a BILLBOARD in my hometown of Washington, DC! I’ve also done countless local fashion shows.”

How have you taken the runway training from PHXFW’s Model of the Year competition to implement into your career now as a signed Agency AZ Model and for Strut Runway? “I’ve used a lot that I’ve learned from PHXFW for my current runway style as well as Strut Runway. I remember always looking forward to going to practice for PHXFW; they were always so fun. I want my coaching with Strut Runway to exude that same energy. I want people to LOVE coming to coaching sessions. I feel when you are doing something you LOVE, other people can’t help but be excited about it as well.”

What inspired/motivated you to start your own business as “Arizona’s Premier Runway Coach’ for Strut Runway? “People have ALWAYS told me I had a ‘killer walk’. Even when I was getting coached myself when I was in high school, I remember all the coaches gathering around to see my walk and getting excited. As of late, when I was voted ‘Best Model 2014’ for the Phoenix New Times, they compared my walk to Naomi Campbell! I felt honored! I knew at that point I needed to share my gift.”

What emotions have you experienced since starting this new business? “Starting this new business has been an emotional roller coaster. Some days it seems like all things are moving forward, and other days it seems I’ve taken two steps backward. However, I’ve learned that everything happens when they are supposed to happen. With patience and perseverance, you’ll always end up getting what’s right for the betterment of the company.”

_DTP2674

What advice can you give to models who are looking to follow in your footsteps and make an impact on the industry as a model? “My advice to other models would be to never let anyone tell you no. Although you may hear the word often, don’t let that deter you from persuing your goals. It’s redundant but VERY true… And also… Don’t forget to STRUT!”

How would you describe your overall style of runway walk? “My overall style of runway walk is controlled, but FIERCE!”

What’s next on your plate, you seem to always be keeping yourself busy? “I try to master one thing at a time. I’m not the type to juggle a lot of things and hope that one of them produces positive results. I focus my energy on being the best I can be at what I’m doing and mastering that goal, then I move on to the next project. Right now, my focus is on Strut Runway as Arizona’s Premier Runway Coach. I would like my company to expand to different cities, states, and hopefully countries!”

Article by Lauren Pfingstag for Phoenix Fashion Week

“The Resource For All Things Fashionable”

http://www.phoenixfashionweek.com

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment