MEET THE DESIGNER: Misha Mendicino Designs


misha-mendicino

Every week leading up to Phoenix Fashion Week, we will be posting a blog, to help our fans get to know the 2014 emerging designers a little bit better. Unlike our other posts, these come directly from this year’s emerging designers. Today we feature Misha Mendicino of Misha Mendicino Designs, one of our emerging designers. Learn about her life, her work and other little known facts in today’s designer tell all post.

Bio: (background, school, work)

I have lived a lot of life!  I am originally from Santa Maria, California. When I was 17, I moved to Hawaii on a one-way ticket with no plans on coming back to the Mainland. I landed my dream job at Continental Airlines as a flight attendant and moved to New York-were I was based.

I loved to travel and see the world! The busy jet set lifestyle was perfect for me until I suffered a back injury which ended my career. I moved back to Hawaii to recover for about three years. I missed aviation so much during my ground time that I decided to go back to school.

I attended Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University here in Arizona and studied Aeronautical Science with emphasis on Technical Operations, received my BS degree in Aeronautical Science and also received my Commercial Multi-Engine Instrument ratings. Following that I worked for a while as a Commercial Pilot both cargo and passenger.

I loved the challenging course work but once on the line I needed a change. I got married, started my family but always wanted to start a clothing line. The idea and dream finally found its timing. I don’t have any formal design education, I was always altering something I had bought just to make it my own-but I had a dream and that was enough.

Where do you find inspiration for your collection?

I get ideas from the most random places–sometimes it is an object, or a color, maybe a current trend that I want to alter. I pay a lot of attention to sleeves, all different kinds. I find that my “think tank time” is best in the late evenings.

Do you have any style icons?

Jackie Kennedy–she was always dressed like a proper lady. I loved the era of those times.

Do you have any fashion secrets you can share with our readers?

I wouldn’t call it a secret; I like to wear a pop of color with the bra and let it peak out of the shirt.

For beginner designers, what are some tips for setting yourself apart from other designers?

Design what you love–it will show through. Find a niche and go for it.

What trend are you looking forward to most this season?

While I pay attention to trends, I don’t necessarily follow them. I do like the fall colors of wine and deep teal. If I like it, I will wear it.

Where are your favorite places to shop?

Macy’s, Target and Daniella Jay Boutique, random online sites

Do you shop often to keep up with trends?

No, I am an emotional shopper.

Do you have any tips on prioritizing purchases or staying stylish on a budget?

Buy your staple pieces, then you can buy trendy items to style around it.

Do you have an all-time favorite purchase?

Yes, most recently a sweater coat and a soft Joie navy blue blazer that I cannot wait to wear!

What is your favorite part about being a fashion designer?

Its almost like the best shopping experience ever–I love fabrics, colors and most of all prints!

What is one interesting, quirky fact about you that readers don’t know?

I always have to have the side of the bed that is closest to the door.

Article by Janice Vega and Katie Snyder for Phoenix Fashion Week

“The Resource For All Things Fashionable”

http://www.phoenixfashionweek.com

    • Dantgersey
    • September 29th, 2014

    Love the leisurely designs and the company’s commitment to a worthy cause!!!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

