MEET THE DESIGNER: Lillienne Lang


Lillienne Lang 1

Every week leading up to Phoenix Fashion Week, we will be posting a blog, to help our fans get to know

the 2014 emerging designers a little bit better. Unlike our other posts, these come directly from this year’s emerging designers. Today we feature Lillienne Lang, one of our emerging designers. Learn about her life, her work and other little known facts in today’s designer tell all post.

Bio: (background, school, work).

I am originally from Sonora Mexico.  My Mom taught me how to sew, and she being a school teacher taught me my education.  I have had random jobs in the past, worked as a Housekeeper, Chef, Nanny, Wedding planner, Bridal Designer, Decorator, and Stylist.

Where do you find inspiration for your collection?

Inspiration comes from Mother Nature, aviation, architecture, from the past 1940s/50s, and from imagining what our world will be like in 20 years from now. It’s a bit of the future with the past.

Do you have any style icons?

Coco Chanel, Audrey Hepburn, Grace Kelly, Zac Posen, Carolina Herrera, Monique Illuillier, Ralph Lauren, Sophia Loren, Paul Newman, Cary Grant, JFK Jr. Jackie O. Audrey Tatou.

Do you have any fashion secrets you can share with our readers?

Develop a liking for timeless style. For lasting looks. And you will save on your wallet and never be out of style.

For beginner designers, what are some tips for setting yourself apart from other designers?

Stay true to who you are and what you want. Design wearable fashion. Be different. Unique. Fearless. Effective. And never ever, compromise on quality.

What trend are you looking forward to most this season?

I follow trends to a certain point, though for me being a designer who is focused on a timeless sense of style that never changes really, to some point yes, but the fundamentals don’t change.  Trends come and go for the most part. I guess I could say it is a good day when I see timeless style all over front pages!

Where are your favorite places to shop?

My favorite places to shop would be exclusive boutiques and unique thrift shops along the way.

Do you shop often to keep up with trends?

I prefer timeless and quality versus trends. So whatever I purchase it will last through the ever changing trend cycle.

Do you have any tips on prioritizing purchases or staying stylish on a budget?

Shop with must have staples in mind. And buy timeless pieces that will last through evolving trends.

Do you have an all-time favorite purchase?

Recently I just happened upon a beautiful pair of Ferragamo boots at a thrift shop for nine dollars! Originally around 1300 dollars! Yes, it was my favorite all-time purchase!

What is your favorite part about being a fashion designer?

Being able to imagine and then sketching it up and watching it come to life on the runway and having others appreciate your work is truly a surreal moment for me. I would say sketching is my favorite part of the creation process.

What is one interesting, quirky fact about you that readers don’t know?

I grew up with books instead of TV and I read for a pastime.  And as a devoted fan of Jane Austin, I relished every moment re reading her works again and again. I never tire of them.

A sweet memory and truly a great pleasure.

Article by Janice Vega and Katie Snyder for Phoenix Fashion Week

“The Resource For All Things Fashionable”

http://www.phoenixfashionweek.com

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

