MEET THE DESIGNER: Kismit


KismitEvery week leading up to Phoenix Fashion Week, we will be posting a blog, to help our fans get to know the 2014 emerging designers a little bit better. Unlike our other posts, these come directly from this year’s emerging designers. Today we feature Delora Fuglem of Kismit, one of our emerging designers. Learn about her life, her work and other little known facts in today’s designer tell all post.

Bio: (background, school, work).

I have been interested in fashion since the 7th grade, I studied fashion in high school and then graduated from FIDM with my Associates of the Arts in fashion design. During my years at FIDM I interned for a designer and then moved back to Arizona to create and establish my own brand in Phoenix.

Where do you find inspiration for your collection?

I am inspired by minimalism, less is more and simple is sophisticated.

Do you have any style icons?

Blake Lively

For beginner designers, what are some tips for setting yourself apart from other designers?

For beginner designers, my tip would be to make sure you get involved with your local fashion community. Look for meet and greets, participate in competitions such as Phoenix Fashion Week or RAW: Natural Born Artists.

What trend are you looking forward to most this season?

I am so excited for the shirt dress to come back!

Where are your favorite places to shop?

Bebe and my guilty pleasure place to shop is hot topic.

Do you shop often to keep up with trends?

If I could personally afford to keep up with the trends, I definitely would.

What is your favorite part about being a fashion designer?

It is so rewarding and exciting to have an idea in your head, sketch it out and then be able to see it come to life. That is such a wonderful feeling!

What is one interesting, quirky fact about you that readers don’t know?

I am obsessed with metalcore music (loud guitars, screaming and heavy drums)

Article by Janice Vega and Katie Snyder for Phoenix Fashion Week

“The Resource For All Things Fashionable”

http://www.phoenixfashionweek.com

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

