MEET THE DESIGNER: Adoire by Saba


Adoire by Saba

Every week leading up to Phoenix Fashion Week, we will be posting a blog, to help our fans get to know the 2014 emerging designers a little bit better. Unlike our other posts, these come directly from this year’s emerging designers. Today we feature Saba Iqbal of Adoire by Saba, one of our emerging designers. Learn about her life, her work and other little known facts in today’s designer tell all post.

Bio: (background, school, work).

I grew up in Orange County and went to UCLA for undergrad, so I have a soft spot for California. I worked in business development for a Los Angeles based boutique for several years, where I grew an interest in the retail and fashion industry.

In 2010, I moved to Boston for graduate school and later accepted a business development job with an IT company in Virginia. Earlier this year, my husband accepted a job in Phoenix and here I am today!

Where do you find inspiration for your collection?

I love art, travel, culture and history. So, a lot of my inspiration comes from those elements. I thrive in cultural diversity and truly believe that every culture has something good to offer. I like mixing all these different elements when I’m creating a collection.

Do you have any style icons?

Yes, I think Tory Burch has been instrumental in making tunics mainstream. She elegantly combined bohemian style with sophistication.

Do you have any fashion secrets you can share with our readers?

Keep things simple. The more clutter and chaos you put into your closet and make-up bag, the less productive you will be.

For beginner designers, what are some tips for setting yourself apart from other designers?

Always be in a spirit of learning. There will always be someone bigger and better than you.  So, keep your mind open and encourage self-development.

What trend are you looking forward to most this season?

I’m looking forward to lots of bold colors and fabrics!

Where are your favorite places to shop?

I like Tory Burch, Free People and Pottery Barn. But I bought some of my most memorable pieces from small boutiques in Paris, Florence, India and Pakistan.

Do you shop often to keep up with trends?

No. I try not to fall into the trap of fast fashion. I prefer to invest in pieces that are made well and I can enjoy for a while.

Do you have any tips on prioritizing purchases or staying stylish on a budget?

For me, shopping is equivalent to Elle Woods manicure therapy. For that reason alone, I prioritize on purchases. I like to know ahead of time what I need and then make one nice purchase instead of five average ones.

Do you have an all-time favorite purchase?

I have this amazing hand embroidered jacket from Renu Tandon, a designer from India. I was at a fashion show several years ago and Renu was wearing this jacket.  I told her how much I loved it and she simply took it off and gave it to me. I was on cloud nine that evening.

What is your favorite part about being a fashion designer?

You have the power to make ideas come to life. Your imagination is tangible and real.

What is one interesting, quirky fact about you that readers don’t know?

I think my husband will agree that I’m a bit of a clean freak!

Article by Katie Snyder and Janice Vega for Phoenix Fashion Week

“The Resource For All Things Fashionable”

http://www.phoenixfashionweek.com

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

