MEET THE DESIGNER: Verbena Designs


VERBENA DESIGNS

Every week leading up to Phoenix Fashion Week, we will be posting a blog, to help our fans get to know the 2014 emerging designers a little bit better. Unlike our other posts, these come directly from this year’s emerging designers.

Today we feature Adriana Soto with Verbena Designs, one of our emerging accessory designers. Learn about her life, her work and other little known facts in today’s designer tell all post.

Bio: 

My name is Adriana Soto and I’m an Industrial designer graduated From ITESM in Chihuahua, Mexico. I made it into a student program in Madrid Spain at InstitutoEuropeo di Design, and that is where I found my passion for hand craft design. In September 2012 I moved to Phoenix and I continue with my jewelry studies. In September 2013 I created Verbena Designs.

Where do you find inspiration for your collection?

All my collections are inspired by nature, earth and different cultures. My piece captures the essence of women around the world, taking their ethnic elements, every piece is handmade and each one has their own style, they make a style statement.

Do you have any style icons?

I have a few designers who really inspire me from different countries, one of them is Daniel Espinoza, he is a jewelry designer from Mexico and he has a unique style inspired by the Mexican culture and architecture.

Do you have any fashion secrets you can share with our readers?

Just follow your passion and inspiration. When you follow it, you really enjoy the daily journey.

For beginner designers, what are some tips for setting yourself apart from other designers?

Be unique, because out there is a lot of designers that follow the same style. People really appreciate the originality and the freshness of emerging designers.

What trend are you looking forward to most this season?

The Verbena Fall/Winter collection 2015 as it is inspired by the Mexican warrior culture of the Aztecs.  I get inspired by some elements of this ancient culture and the different objects used when they were preparing to fight.

Where are your favorite places to shop?

I love to support local designers, so I really enjoy any kind of local fairs.

Do you shop often to keep up with trends?

Not really, I like to poke around my vintage closet and mix it with a new trend.

Do you have any tips on prioritizing purchases or staying stylish on a budget?

Always keep in mind to have some piece of quality and uniqueness in style.

Do you have an all-time favorite purchase?

Shoes!

What is your favorite part about being a fashion designer?

My favorite part of being a fashion designer is being able to express myself and have it reflected on a piece of jewelry.

What is one interesting, quirky fact about you that readers don’t know?

My first creations were apparel designs, but then I decided to merge in jewelry world.

 Article by Janice Vega for Phoenix Fashion Week

“The Resource For All Things Fashionable”

http://www.phoenixfashionweek.com

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

