Miss Arizona USA (2011) Brittany Brannon : New Fashion Host of PHXFW TV


Phoenix Fashion Week has always been known to provide fashionistas an inside look into the industry, from interviews with fashion designers to trend forecasting via street style and live social media updates. We are excited to announce that we are creating ‘PHXFW TV’ and have chosen quite the fashionista as our  new ‘Fashion Host’…Miss Arizona USA 2011 Brittany Brannon! Brannon has been involved with PHXFW for years, which is why this announcement feels like a natural and fitting transition. Whether it’s giving behind the scenes access to our designers’ creative design process, to live video interviews with key industry professionals at each event leading up to and including fashion week, Brannon’s role as ‘Fashion Host’ of PHXFW TV will be a must see!

Her first official hosting assignment will be at the Emerging Designer Announcement Event at the Musical Instrument Museum on June 21st.  So, we decided to catch up with Brannon and get our own behind the scenes look into her background as a crowned beauty that wears many hats, including a graduation hat, just last month from Pepperdine University!

Introduce yourself and what your role will be with our team.
“I am Brittany Dawn Brannon and I am thrilled to be the ‘Fashion Host’ for Phoenix Fashion Week! My origin is a combination of German, Irish, Scottish and Mediterranean. I am a native to Arizona and currently reside in Paradise Valley. My parents have always believed that travel is the best for education. This was an important part of my childhood and continues to be an important part of my life today, as travel has given me an appreciation for different cultures, ways of life, art, fashion, food and the excuse to shop.”

Provide us a background on your previous experience that will help you in this new role.
“I was Miss Arizona USA 2011 and competed for Miss USA 2011 on NBC. I placed in the top 15 and won the ‘Most Photogenic Award.’  This last year was much more than just wearing a crown and sash, it was a year I spent working with the USO Wounded Warriors, La Hacienda Medical Center and speaking on my chosen topic of Leaving a Legacy. I graduated from Pepperdine University with degrees in Broadcast News and Art HIstory. My studies also include English Literature at Cambridge and Oxford University as well as Art History in Florence, Italy at the SACI School of Art. I have worked on NewsWaves 32 in Malibu, CA as Head Anchor for four years and worked at NBC’s Nightly News and The Today Show. Some of my experience also include interning on the Hill in D.C. for two senators and thoroughly loved my time spent in the nation’s Capital. I have my SCCA Racing License and attended the Bob Bondurant School of Racing. My dad races Formula 1’s and Indy cars, which interested me in getting my license and racing Formula Fords.  My future goals include a career path that directly effects and improves others lives and an arena where I can incorporate my love for individuals, art, fashion and travel.”

Why did you choose to accept this new role with PHXFW?
“I accepted this role with PHXFW because, as cliche as it sounds, fashion is one of my passions. After meeting Brian Hill and Brenna Moses, I knew that this was an opportunity I didn’t want to pass up because they do not just see relationships as business, but strive to make them as personable and valuable as they can. I met some of the team members last year and they are truly the kindest people who are all working together for the same cause. Everyone on the team has a unique fashion outlet and when we all get together, we will work in a unique and artistic way to bring you the best fashion week we can.”

What are you most looking forward to about this role with PHXFW?
“I am looking forward to the people I am going to meet in the next few months! The media team is launching PHXFW TV Channel and we will dive into the lives of the designers more than in the past. Getting to know every single person, from set-up crew, designers, models, the PHXFW team to the audience members is the main thing I am excited about with my role as your host.”

How have you been involved with PHXFW in the past?
“I first met the team back in 2007 when I walked in the celebrity fashion show as Miss Teen America 2007. I absolutely loved the entire experience. Then in 2011, I reconnected with Brian when I attended the Emerging Designer Runway Challenge as Miss Arizona USA 2011.”

What do you hope to bring to the viewers of PHXFW TV? 
“My goal as your ‘Fashion Host’ is to not just host the Channel or emcee the live events, but to bridge a relationship between the designers and our global followers. I plan on doing this by getting to know those who are creating the designs, their stories and how their experiences have influenced their brands.  I also hope to bring you not necessarily fashion ‘trends’  but fashion that you can use to dress as your personality. Fashion is constantly emerging as it’s own language for men and women, as fashion is art influenced through culture. Ultimately I am here for YOU as the person who wants to help you learn more about what goes on before and behind- the- runway shows. Furthermore, I want to be here for you and give you a look into the daily lives of people who have inspiring stories of overcoming trials, beating the odds and being successful as they pursue their passions in life.”

Thanks Brittany!

Make sure to look for Brittany at the Emerging Designer Announcement Event at the MIM on June 21st beginning at 7pm! Stay tuned for an upcoming blog post featuring this event and it’s ten (10) talented emerging designers!

To get to know Brittany even better, visit her website, follow her on Twitter and “Like” her on Facebook!

Article by Lauren Pfingstag for Phoenix Fashion Week
“The Resource For All Things Fashionable”
http://www.phoenixfashionweek.com


  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

