Local Models Rock The Runway at MIM


Tajji Sharp has always had an interest in modeling, especially commercial and print. However, this interest has turned into a reality, as he will be rocking the runway this week in Fashion Rocks MIM fashion show featuring global designers and local stylists. This will be the first major fashion show Sharp has modeled in and needless to say, he is thrilled. “I am extremely excited! I work hard at everything I do, so I’d say, willpower and my determination to succeed has brought me to this point. It is definitely a blessing”.

I had the fabulous opportunity to interview Sharp and hear his thoughts on the event and how Phoenix Fashion Week has helped his modeling career.

 Q: What are you most looking forward to in the Fashion Rocks MIM show? 

A: “Wow. Where do I start? It provides a plethora of opportunities, not just for me, but for everyone involved. I’m looking forward to the exposure, the “flashing lights ” (Kanye reference), the networking and an all around delightful ambiance. But most importantly, I just want to learn. Learning has always been key for me. Besides, the MIM is an amazing place, so it should prove to be a great experience!”

Q: Why do you think it’s important that we are featuring the stylists behind the looks on the runway? 

A: “First, I must commend Brian Hill, and the Phoenix Fashion Week team for featuring the stylists, that’s amazing! In my opinion, the stylists are the glue, they “gel” everything together. Without the stylists, clothes would just be clothes.

Q: How has Phoenix Fashion Week helped you in your modeling career? What opportunities were you given that furthered your career or opened doors for you?

A: “It has awarded me the opportunity to meet some amazing people, and it has also been an enriching and empowering experience. The opportunity to model with some of Arizona’s most accomplished models is an opportunity within itself. There’s no telling what the future holds, but I’ll be sure to open the door when opportunity knocks, again.”

Q: What are your future goals for modeling? What designers would you like to walk for?

A: “My future goals consists of gaining more exposure, more experience, and hopefully someday traveling the world as a result of my modeling. I’d love to walk for Michael Kors, Louis Vuitton, and Waraire Boswell’s, WB Collection.”

Tamerlin Kohnke is another talented local model walking in the Fashion Rocks MIM fashion show this week. Kohnke has been modeling since she was 8 years old and has been walking the runway since age 16. She has been a regular in Phoenix Fashion Week’s runway shows, including modeling looks at the Sex and the City fashion show at the W Scottsdale last year. Although Kohnke has experience, she is passionate about modeling and thrilled to be involved with the Fashion Rocks MIM event.

I had the opportunity to interview Kohnke as well and learn about her history with Phoenix Fashion Week and her future goals in modeling.
Q: What are you most looking forward to in the Fashion Rocks MIM show?

A: “I am so looking forward to walking it’s only been a couple of months since my last runway and already I have a craving. The crowd should be good, the more people the better for me. I love to be a part of it all.”

Q: Why do you think it’s important that we are featuring the stylists behind the looks on the runway?

A: “It is important so the viewers get a sense of background on the clothing as well as the visual. It’s awesome that we are taking our viewers behind the scenes so they can see what influenced the styles they are seeing before them. It will get them interested in not just the clothing, but the culture.”

Q:  How has Phoenix Fashion Week helped you in your modeling career? What opportunities were you given that furthered your career or opened doors for
you?

A: “I have always loved modeling and actually got involved with PHXFW when Hermann Plank saw me waiting tables at a restaurant and told me to come to the audition, I did and the rest is history. I have been on numerous television spots modeling, and I have had the opportunity to be a part of many runway/ modeling events. I have been able to get my face out there.”
Q: What are your future goals for modeling? What designers would you like to walk for?

A: “I will keep walking for as long as I can, my past present and future is
modeling. It is something I’ll always want to be a part of and even if I have to pursue photography, styling or designing, I will stay involved in the culture of fashion. I’d love to walk for Vera Wang and Victoria’s Secret.”

Thanks Tajji and Tamerlin!

Look for Tajji and Tamerlin rocking the runway March 31st at Fashion Rocks MIM! For tickets, please visit www.fashionrocksmim.eventbrite.com.

We love feedback! Post a comment about this article and you could win a free Phoenix Fashion Week t-shirt!

Article by Lauren Pfingstag for Phoenix Fashion Week

The Resource for “All Things Fashionable”

www.phoenixfashionweek.com

    • Sammie Miller
    • March 31st, 2011

    Congratulation♥ on the interview~ may you have great success tonight! well wishes ! “you go!!” applaud you “CLAP FOR YA”{JayZ}

  1. Thank you, Jai! You have been more than generous to me, and for that, I am truly grateful. This is a remarkable experience…I couldn’t have fathomed better. You’re the artist, and I’m the canvas. And tonight, we’ll display our masterpieces. So glad I could take part.

  2. Tajji has been a pleasure to work with. His work ethic and passion will take him far in anything he chooses to do. Tajji will bring the Rock the crowd tonight. So glad he came to the model casting!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

