Shannon Campbell : Rocking The MIM


Interview with Shannon Campbell, Local Wardrobe Stylist Rocking the MIM

For the first time, Phoenix Fashion Week is working with four talented local stylists to produce the Fashion Rocks MIM event at the Musical Instrument Museum March 31st featuring global fashions and music. These stylists will use their expertise and experience in the fashion industry to create a fashion show representative of the designer’s home country and culture. Shannon Campbell, a local wardrobe stylist for magazine editorials, fashion shows and celebrities, will be one of these featured stylists. Campbell loved fashion from a young age and graduated from the Fashion Institute of Technology in New York, where she made her mark working as a stylist on VH-1 Music Channel, as well as behind the scenes at Mercedes-Benz Fashion Week and at FORD Models. She later moved to Arizona, where she currently works as a freelance wardrobe stylist for many local publications, including So Scottsdale and Go Gilbert Magazine. Campbell clearly wears many hats in the fashion industry here in Phoenix, including producing fashion shows, writing, graphic design, visual merchandising and more.

I had the fabulous opportunity to sit down with Campbell and learn more about her work as a wardrobe stylist and her involvement in the Fashion Rocks MIM show.

Q: With all the experience you have, is there any part of the fashion industry you haven’t been involved with and would like to be?

A:  “I have done videos, but I would like to do movies. My Fantastics Magazine editor sees me as a costume designer. I like to take clothes and style the shoot so it’s my own. I paint a picture through the wardrobe.”

Q: How would you describe your personal style?

A: “It’s not about the label, it’s about the look. A lot people don’t realize that you don’t have to buy $2000 Versace dress to be stylish. It’s not about how expensive something is, it’s how you put it together.”

Q: Who are some of your favorite designers and why?

A: “I love Chanel. There is something timeless about it, whether vintage or today. Chanel has that “wow” factor. Betsey Johnson is so much fun and really goes outside the box, whether with the crinoline under her skirts or different colored tights, she shows off her personality.”

Q: What are your must have items as a stylist? What is always in your purse?

A: “I always have a glue gun and socks. It’s amazing how many times I’ve had random socks in my purse and I’ve made them into gloves, flowers, etc. for a shoot. I also find random objects and use my glue gun to create unique rings. If you have a vision, you make it work with what you have.”

Q: As a stylist, what inspires you?

A:  “I could sit at Barnes and Nobles for hours and look through fashion spreads in all different magazines. I also do a lot of research online…fashionising.com, style.com and models.com to name a few.”

Q: What are your favorite local boutiques, shops, etc that you like to pull from for photoshoots?

A: “I pull clothing locally, at Nordstrom, Dillards, Barneys and Ted Baker. I also love pulling from smaller boutiques to get them exposure…Fashion by Robert Black, Bon Achat, Kiss Me Kate, About Face, and Elan Style to name a few! I also work part-time at Elan Style, which is a great boutique at the Scottsdale Quarter!”

Q: Do you have a dream job that you are working towards or do you simply like mixing it up and working in different areas of fashion?

A: “I would love to be a fashion editor of a publication. Currently, I am the Fashion Coordinator of So Scottsdale. In the future, I would like to be the one calling the shots for a shoot, as I’ve done so many different aspects of fashion and have so much experience.”

Q: What is the experience like working as a stylist in NYC vs. Phoenix?

A: “It’s night and day. NYC is not as bad as people think. Starting out in NYC, there’s so much to get involved in. It is much harder to get started in the industry in Phoenix. However, Phoenix Fashion Week is paving the way.”

Q: I heard you assisted a shoot with Italian Vogue’s Fashion Editor! How did it come about, and what was that like?

A: “My friend Evan Gunville, a local photographer, was contacted by

behind the scenes - Italian Vogue

 Italian Vogue in October 2009. They were looking for a local stylist, and he recommended me! I almost had a heart attack! The photo shoot took place at Lake Powell, and I said if I had to rent a helicopter to get there, I would. It was amazing to see all the boxes of couture clothing from Versace and other designers. We even had Jennifer Garner’s dress, worn for the cover of W magazine a few weeks earlier! It was an amazing experience.”

Q: How will you lend your talents as a stylist to the Fashion Rocks MIM event and create the cultural atmosphere of the country?

A: “I like to be prepared, so I will be researching the country extensively. I want to make people feel like the show is authentically from the country, so this may mean creating hairpieces, belts, etc. I want to turn heads.”

Q: What are you most looking forward to about this event?

A: “I like that for the first time, Phoenix Fashion Week is focusing on the stylists. A lot of times, people don’t understand how much work really goes into a show and that someone has to coordinate it. It will be interesting to see the other three stylists’ interpretation.”

Q: Besides Fashion Rocks MIM, what other projects do you have coming up?

A: “I will be going to Las Vegas to work with celebrity photographer Mary-Ann Bilham. The film Burlesque, has inspired a show in Vegas, so we will be doing a photo shoot with the show’s cast. I actually met her husband, Robert Knight, during a photo shoot with classic rock band YES and this put me in contact with Mary-Ann.”

Q: As many readers hoping to make it in the fashion industry might be wondering, what tips or advice can you offer them?

A: “If you are really passionate, don’t let anyone get in your way. My dad always said that your job shouldn’t be work. In the past, I worked on shows, shoots and styling when I wasn’t working my desk job. Fashion was truly my passion and love and what I wanted to be when I grew up, so I decided to quit the desk job and try my dream job as a stylist full-time. I am very lucky that it has worked out as well as it has so far!”

Fantastics Magazine-cover styled by Shannon Campbell

 Thank you, Shannon!

For more information and pictures of her work, visit www.shannonmcampbell.com

Catch her styling vision on the runway at the Fashion Rocks MIM event March 31st. For tickets, visit www.fashionrocksmim.eventbrite.com.

We love feedback! Post a comment about this article and you could win a free Phoenix Fashion Week t-shirt!

Article by Lauren Pfingstag for Phoenix Fashion Week

The Resource for “All Things Fashionable” www.phoenixfashionweek.com

  1. Definitely agreed. I totally love this blog.

    • Brenna Moses
    • March 15th, 2011

    Great Article!! Shannon’s work is pretty impressive!! Looking forward to seeing her creativity come to life on the runway!! Best of Luck:)

  2. Looking forward to see what our local stylist have to offer. It is exciting to know we have such great stylist withing our hometown. Can’t wait for this exciting experience!

    Marcy

  3. I love the motivation in this blog! Especially when she speaks of quitting her desk job to pursue her dreams. A lot of us have a hard time taking risks in order to make it!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

