VictoriaLyn’s Secret


Born on Christmas day of 1988, it seems like VickiLyn was created with something special inside. She is an up and coming fashion designer based out of Arizona. I got a chance to have an interview with her, and to get to know more about VickiLyn’s Closet.

When did you first start designing?
I started designing as my main job in January of 2009 but I’ve been sewing and creating things for myself and my family for as long as I can remember.

What is the one thing you love about what you do?
I love that I get to work for myself and do exactly what I want, make whatever I want, and be creative all the time.

If you weren’t in this career, what would your next passion?
I would definitely be in law enforcement, I even went to school for police science and I paid for my books and tuition by sewing.

What’s the inspiration for your line?
My current line for Spring/Summer 2011 is inspired by doll clothes and late 1800s era fashion.

For being so young, you sure have accomplished quite a bit! Where do you see yourself in the next five to ten years? Or where do you hope to be?
In five years I’d love to have my fashions featured in stores across the country in well know boutiques as well as my very own Vickilyn’s Closet stores. By the time ten years comes around I’d like to be known worldwide, I really don’t aim low so I’m shooting for the stars.

Who are some of your fashion idols? Which time era do you love the fashion?
Some of my fashion style idols are Audrey Hepburn, Bettie Page, Madonna, Cher, and Ru Paul, but designer wise I’d have to say Betsey Johnson, Alexander McQueen (may he rest in peace), and Bob Mackie. The eras I love would definitely be the pin-up times of the 40s and 50s along with all the big, elegant, and complicated fashions of the 1700s and 1800s.

You will be able to meet Victorialyn McCarthy and experience her collection on the runway during Phoenix Fashion Week, October 7th-9th, 2010.

Article written by Jenelle Parrish for Phoenix Fashion Week.


  1. Thank you for sharing my article with the Delance Fashion Community!

    “PhoenixFashionWeek: This is helpful to those looking to work in the fashion industry!! Interview tips!!”

    I just bookmarked your website to share on NIF a few days ago! Let me know if you have any ideas of the angle you would like me to write my article (for a high school/college audience)… shelby@nextinfashion.com.

    Thanks again,
    Shelby from NIF

  1. September 12th, 2010

Leave a Reply

